Mixed Media Altered Journal Process Photos

mixed media altered journal cover 1

I wanted to share a few photos of my very first altered journal project. I am so obsessed with mixed media crafts right now. I love my inky fingers and my messy craft station. When I first started noticing mixed media art becoming increasingly popular I thought WOW, there is no way I could possibly do something like that. When perusing the internet, I found that making these wonderful pieces of art may not be so bad. This is the finished project, and looking back I feel I should have added some bolder colors to make items POP but I am pretty happy with how this turned out.

First, I went through all the trinkets and memorabilia that I had stashed away in my drawers. I used Mod Podge to adhere a designer paper to the album cover. I let this dry completely. I added some texture by using Tim Holtz stencils and Liquitex modeling paste. Once dry. I layered down some lace, metal trinkets, gears, chipboard embellishments, seashells, a metal drawer handle and paper flowers using hot glue and E6000 glue for permanent adhesion.

1st step mixed media journal

Next, I used Liquitex Gesso and covered all the layers and let dry.

2nd step mixed media cover

Once completely dry, I used Various sprays and inks to add color. unfortunately I do not have any photos of this step, I guess I was too excited and totally forgot I wanted to document this project. My bad! The inks I did use were Dylusions, Mr.Huey, and Heidi Swapp. I did end up using some gold acrylic paint to accent some pieces after the spray inks were dry.

Here is the final product! Thanks for looking.

view 4 journalview 3 journalview 2 journalview 1 journalcropped-mixed-media-altered-journal-cover-1.jpg

Leave a Reply

