Shabby/winged mixed media card

My to-do list today included making a card using an old technique I haven’t used in years. DIY crackle background, made by layering acrylic paints and mod podge. I love this effect. This card goes well with a few of this months challenges. I will be submitting this to Creative Embellishments May Challenge as well as The Mixed Media Card Challenge and using it to apply for The Mixed Media Card Challenge Design Team. I am also playing along at sisters of craft.

My card background was made using the DIY crackle background, layered with sheet music stamps by Heidi Swapp, Ink is weathered wood Distress ink. The title was actually taken from an old hymnal I found in a local junque store. I added a Creative Embellishment chippy bird cage to fulfill my “winged” portion of the challenge. I was Inspired by the colors, lace and bird house found on the Creative Embellishments challenge blog so I decided to incorporate those elements into this card. The final product is this gorgeous shabby chic card. Hope you like. Please feel free to leave a comment below and take a look at the Challenges for your self!

May 2015 Mixed Media Card Challenge

                                                    CE Badge The_Mixed_Media_Card_Challenge-badge

16 thoughts on “Shabby/winged mixed media card

  1. Beautiful card! Love the shabby feel, colors and design. Awesome alterations to the birdcage chippy. Thanks so much for playing along with us at Creative Embellishments.

    Like

  2. Beautiful card! I love the soft colors you used and the doily and trim are just perfect for your card! Thanks for playing along with the Creative Embellishments May Challenge! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

