Trinket fairy mixed media canvas

I decided to open up my new bottle of black gesso and try it out. I was curious how colors and shimmer would show up over it. I made this mixed media canvas using paper flowers, metal flowers and trinkets, and chipboard pieces from Creative Embellishments.  Here is what I came up with.

image

I applied everything to the canvas using different adhesives hoping to come up with kind of a fairy shape, then covered the while thing in black gesso. Once the gesso was dry, I took some Dylusions sprays and Lindy Stamp Gang Sprays and sprayed over the entire canvas. Heat tool to set.

I was a little upset because  the colors did not show up on the piece however the shimmer did show up.

I decided I was going to lighten up the areas using some white gesso so I could reapply ink where I wanted it.  When I applied the white gesso over my canvas using a sponge, all of a sudden color started to appear, pastel of course, but visible non the less. At this point I decided to dab gesso all over the piece and it came to life. What a happy accident. I left it as it was and didn’t reapply any color. I love how it turned out.

image

image

image

I will be submitting this to Creative Embellishments August Challenge.

Thanks for looking!

One thought on “Trinket fairy mixed media canvas

Leave a Reply

