October 2015 Mixed Media Card Challenge

Hello and happy October. 

This time of year has got to be my all time favorite.

I am always inspired by the rich colors as I step outdoors here in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. This month on the Mixed Media Card Challenge blog, the inspiration board is giving me so many ideas that I can hardly keep my head on straight.

october2015challenge

For this challenge, I have decided to create a card showcasing how my eyes interpret a gorgeous yet eerie night sky.

For this card, I used Faber Castel Gelatos in various colors and applied them in a watercolor fashion. I stamped some images using some jet black archival ink. I decided that I wanted to add a wood frame to make it as if you were looking into the darkness outside.

For the frame, I first stamped a wood grain image on some light brown cardstock. I then dry embossed a different wood grain texture. I used distress ink in a darker shade of brown over the raised areas to give the wood some depth. I went around the edges of the frame using black watercolor paint.

Here is how it turned out.

I hope you play along with us over at the Mixed Media Card Challenge.

I cant wait to see how you interpret this months mood board.

Happy crafting!

3 thoughts on “October 2015 Mixed Media Card Challenge

Leave a Reply

