Halloween- Door decor

Oh my goodness, I am so excited that October is finally upon us. I am happy to announce that I am one of the newest Design Team Members for The Mirror Crack’d challenge blog. Today I share my first project and here is this months challenge: Either Tic Tac Toe or a wall hanging.

I chose to do a wall hanging and incorporate a few of the other elements as well.

Halloween is my favorite holiday and I was looking to update my door decor this year. I wanted to try something a little different rather than my usual round wreath. Here is what I came up with.

This piece is very large. Matter of fact, it is my largest handmade piece yet. This piece measures 18″x 15″. To make this piece, I adhered a 14″x 11″ canvas panel to a cheap wood frame from my local craft store. I added the word “BOO” on top of the frame. I also was messing around with drawn images to help guide me in my next step. Here is how that step looked once dry.

Next, I used my hot glue gun and followed the web images I drew on earlier. As you might tell in the next picture, I didn’t quite follow the lines I had drawn.

Next, I gave the whole thing a couple good coats of my trusty Liquitex black gesso.

Once the gesso was dry, I grabbed my new Inka Gold paint in Violet and lightly rubbed the color across my webbing. This paint was fast drying and it has so much shimmer. I am so going back to the store and buying more colors! Sorry, the color is hard to see because it is so shimmery.

Next, I colored the word “BOO” with Inka Gold’s Orange paint also using my finger. I liked the concentration of color when using my finger versus using a paint brush or piece of foam. I then colored some more cheap wood spider web pieces with the violet paint and glued them down using gel medium. The large orange glittery spider in the center was purchased from the local dollar store and It was glued down using hot glue.

Thank you for looking. I hope this has inspired you to go out and update your holiday wall decor.

Please play along with us at The Mirror Crack’d!!!

3 thoughts on “Halloween- Door decor

Leave a Reply

