Mixed Media Ornament

Happy November everyone! I am so excited that the holiday season is upon us. I have decided to make a new Christmas tree ornament this year. This month on The Mirror Crack’d we are showcasing our projects with the theme of “Water”. This is an anything goes challenge so it is perfect for my new ornament making. I decided to make an aquarium themed ornament.

Here is a peek before I go into the details. (Sorry about the glare but plastic is hard to photograph)

For this project, I started out with a cheap clear plastic ornament from my local hobby shop. I painted one half of the ornament with Inka Gold metallic paint in Blue. Once dry, I added some Ocean colored microbeads mixed in some heavy gel gloss to add some texture. I added some champagne colored microbeads to the lower portion to mimic sand.

I colored some UmWowStudios fish confetti and Destination Unknown chipboard with Dylusions spray inks. I colored some Sea Grass chippies from Creative Embellishments using Lindy’s Stamp Gang starburst spray. The sand dollar was painted with acrylic paint.

Once everything was dry, I adhered a few of the larger fish to some wire that way I will have a nice 3D effect. I added some hot glue dots to the background to mimic air bubbles. I added some real seashells and a starfish to finish it off.

Here is a look without the top plastic in place.

Thank you for looking and I do hope you head on over to The Mirror Crack’d and play along.

Signature

Design Team Badge- tmc

One thought on “Mixed Media Ornament

Leave a Reply

