Nautical Frame

Happy New Year everyone!

Lysa here on the blog today sharing my first project for the 2016 year. One of my personal goals for this year is to “step outside the box; Try things I have never tried and live each day to the fullest. For this project, I have decided to mix several paper collections to make one cohesive piece of art.

NKOJan4th-done1

For this project, I covered a plain MDF wood frame using the “Chestnuts” paper from 7DS Yuletide collection. I inked the edges using black soot distress ink which matches this paper very well. I added some texture to the frame by using the 7DS Destination Unknown- Line elements stencil with some heavy gel gloss. I sprinkled some red micro beads on top of the gel medium. I also added some white paint through another dot stencil I had in my collection to balance out the darkness of the project. I embellished the frame using red and white bakers twine, a flower from Prima’s Cartographer collection, Some UmWowStudio chevron confetti colored in navy blue, a red enamel anchor, Queen &Co Rhinestones, and some Vintage Oceanic Anchors washi tape. I decided to add a sailors knot to the right side using some random red and white striped rope I had laying around.

I just love how mixing different collections and products can bring such unexpected results. This frame would look gorgeous in a room full of red and blue nautical decorations. Here are a few more views of the frame.

NKOJan4th-done2NKOJan4th-done3

Don’t be afraid to mix and match collections and products, the results will be amazing. Thank you for looking!

~~Lysa~~

Product List

7DotStudio- Chestnuts paper

Destination Unknown- Line Elements Stencil

Cartographer flowers- Prima

UmWowStudios- Chevron Confetti

Vintage Oceanic Anchors- Washi Tape

Queen & Co- Rhinestones

nani ke ola logo

Leave a Reply

