Trinket Box

I am back today to share my latest project. I absolutely love trinket boxes and realized I needed one for my vanity to hold my jewelry in while I was applying make up and/or doing my hair. While making this box, I decided to make a few more to give to my sisters for Valentines day. Girls love trinket boxes!

For this project, being it is so close to Valentines day, I decided to use the Domestic Goddess collection from 7 Dots Studios. The colors are vibrant yet it maintains that vintage feel.

NKO1

The box base is actually a Graphic 45 ATC book box which I altered slightly to prevent it from fully opening. I colored the box using black acrylic paint. Once dry, I measured all sides and cut various papers (kitchen wallpaper and overused tablecloth)  from the 12×12 paper pack to the appropriate size. I ink’d all my paper edges with black soot distress ink which allows for a seamless feel against the black base. I adhered the papers using mod podge and then gave the outside 2 coats of mod podge which will protect it from any water damage.

NKO3

I used the flag stickers from the 12×12 sticker page and wrapped them around the sides, also making sure to edge these with the black ink. I applied some crystal trim along the bottom because what girl doesn’t love a little bling?

NKO2

I also used a tab sticker on the front along with some Queen & Co rhinestones.

The lid is made with multiple layers of paper pieces, tags from the collection, collage fashionista and collage adverts. I also added some words from the salt & pepper alpha page.

NKO4

NKO5

I hope I have inspired you to make something handmade for Valentines day.

Happy crafting!

~~ Lysa~~

Supplies list:

Domestic Goddess collection- 7 Dot Studio

Rhinestones- Queen & Co

Salt & Pepper Alpha Stickers- 7DS

Collage Adverts- 7DS

Collage Fashionista- 7DS

Domestic Goddess 12X12 and 6×12 Sticker Sheets- 7DS

Domestic Goddess Tags- 7DS

Graphic 45- ATC Book Box

Distress Ink- Black Soot

nani ke ola logo

 

Leave a Reply

