Mixed Media Layout

Hello all. I am back today with a new 12×12 layout using the 7DotsStudios paper collection: Destination Unknown. I love how 7DS almost always includes a wood grain paper in their collections. They are my favorite papers to use.

nko1

For this layout, I used the “Walk the Plank” paper from the 12×12 paper pack. I lightly sponged white gesso to cool down the right and left side which will help the colors pop on the dark paper. I added some texture using my homemade texture paste ( recipe at the end of the post) and pushing it through the  7DS “Soulmates” stencil and the 7DS “Destination Unknown” stencil. I also used the “burlap” stencil from Tim Holtz.

Once everything was nice and dry, I added some color to the gesso areas and to the texture paste. I used Lindy’s Stamp Gang Flat Fabio Spray in Tilt-a-Whirl Teal and Sea Mint Green. I also made my own sprays using Lindy’s Stamp Gang Magicals in Ocean Breeze Blue and Time Travel Teal mixed with water then added to a spray bottle.

I colored the UmWowStudio’s chipboard seahorse and nautical stars with the sprays mentioned above but placed them into a water brush for application.

I cut various strips of paper from the 6×6 paper pack and layered them with die cuts and stickers from the collection pack and mounted my photos.

Here are a few close up views:

nko2

nko3

Thank you for looking and I hope I have inspired you to think outside the box and utilize those dark papers in a very bright way.

Happy Crafting!

~~Lysa~~

Supply List:

Lindy’s Stamp Gang Magical: Ocean Breeze Blue

Lindy’s Stamp Gang Magical: Time Travel Teal

Lindy’s Stamp Gang Starburst Spray: Sea Mint Green

Lindy’s Stamp Gang Flat Fabio: Tilt-a-Whirl Teal

7 DotStudio- Destination Unknown Collection

UmWowStudio Chipboard- Nautical Stars, Sand Dollars and Destination Unknown

7DS: Destination Unknown Stencil

7DS: Soulmates Stencil

Water Brush

nani ke ola logo

Texture Paste Recipe:

This recipe can be downsized or increased depending on your need, just make sure the equivalents remain the same. I make small batches at time so I am not wasting and preventing it from drying out. Mix the following in a container and add a little extra powder or glue as needed:

1 TBS Baking Soda

1/2 TBS white gesso

1/4 TBS white glue/ mod podge

Place in air tight container for storage. Should last several months.

Leave a Reply

