Homegrown 12×12 Layout

Hello all. I am back to share another mixed media layout using the new gorgeous 7 Dots Studio “Homegrown” collection.

hg

For this layout, I utilized the 12×12 papers and layered a few for the base. The trick to using 2 pieces of paper for the base is to cut the center portion out of the bottom page so you are not wasting paper just on layering. I love my paper too much to let it go to waste. Here is a picture of how I cut my pages out. On the left you can see that the small square I cut out can now be used on other projects.

Once I made my base, I began layering paper strips and washi tape in various directions. I used a white wash made from watered down gesso over the layered areas which helped soften the edges and making everything seem more cohesive. I added texture paste by using the Burst Stencil from the collection. I added some color by dipping a paintbrush into Lindy’s Stamp Gang “raspberry lemonade” flat fabio spray and coloring over the focal area. I also flicked some LSG- shabby turbine teal magical on the background which matched this paper line so well.

nko3

I glued down my photo using foam dots and began adding all the embellishments. I added some Prima flowers, UmWowStudio chipboard and fussy cut some small poppies from my spare base paper. I filled the center of the cut out poppies with black microbeads mixed with gloss gel, this really gave them a 3D look. The final embellishments include pearls in various colors, gems and some die cuts from the collection pack.

I added some word stickers and outlined them with charcoal to make them stand out. You can also see I added some faux stitching around the edges.

nko4nko5

Thank you for looking. Happy Crafting!

Product List:

7 Dots Studio- Homegrown Collection

7 Dot Stuido- Burst Stencil

Lindys Stamp Gang- Flat fabio

Lindys Stamp Gang- Magical

UmWowStudio- Chipboard Chevron Confetti

Washi Tape- Flowers Pearl Rose

nani ke ola logo

One thought on “Homegrown 12×12 Layout

Leave a Reply

