Grungy Art Journal Page

Hey all! I am finally back to making art after several months. With the move, the holidays and my crazy work schedule I finally have made time for myself. I decided to play along with the “Our Mixed Media Moods” monthly challenge. I absolutely love what Deedee and Jenn have been making and I decided to give it a go too! 

Here is a copy of the mood board! 

I was so happy to see this board because that minty color is one of my favorites and I was instantly inspired by the distressed door. And do you see that rusty water damage on the bottom of the house? Yes, that also inspired me! Crazy how a little damage can get the creative juices flowing! Also, Deedee’s art piece included a dandelion and I thought I would also include one because dandelions feel very “country” and this mood board is perfect for them!

Alright, now on my journal page. I ended mixing all of my own colors because I did not have them in my stash. I layered multiple colors of orange/mustard to give the edges some depth. I did apply some burnt umber on the very edges which made the page feel finished. The chipboard dandelions were white washed with gesso then glued with heavy gloss gel. 

Thank you for Looking! I can’t wait to play along next month! 


Leave a comment