July 2015 Mixed Media Card Challenge

Hello all! I am so excited to announce that I have joined the wonderful ladies over at The Mixed Media Card  Challenge design team for this upcoming term and I cannot wait to see how everyone interprets the monthly challenges! I am so lucky to be working with such wonderful ladies. Please check out the other Design Team members blogs and show them some love.

This month, the challenge is BLUE with optional element VASE.

july2015challenge

As soon as I heard this months theme my mind instantly wandered to the Victorian era. I imagine ornate vases holding tall bundles of flowers. For this card, I layered multiple Distress inks on the background and used a stencil to add a bit of character. The vase is hand made from chipboard. I used modeling paste, distress inks, gold acrylic paint and heavy gel medium to make the vase shine and stand out against the background. I stamped a cherry blossom image then added some Prima flowers over the stamped image. I used more distress ink to watercolor the center of the blossoms for a realistic look.

BluevaseMMCfinal

20150613_185604

I cannot wait to see how you interpret the theme. Hop on over and come play along with us.

The_Mixed_Media_Card_Challenge-badge 


10 thoughts on “July 2015 Mixed Media Card Challenge

Leave a comment